What if you felt happy while you were supposed to feel sad?

I lost my father 38 days ago. It was sudden. I was working as a receptionist at the Almyrida Resort when my sister called me in panic crying telling me that I should get on the first plane and go home. Our father was dying.

I knew I would not make it on time. I also knew how sad my father felt a year now since he was not able to read any books or walk his usual walks in the morning. The last year, all he could do was listening to the news of the political situation in Greece getting depressed feeling unable to change things. He left with no pain even though he had cancer, God blessed his soul.

I wanted to break the coffin when I saw him confined in there. My always warm and big father seemed so small and frozen. But, I knew I had to stay firm and strong. There were more people in the family suffering…

The whole funeral was … well, as funerals are supposed to be; sad. Only I had more burdens to bear as an independent woman reaching her forties and God forbid not married!

I was relieved to arrive back to Almyrida. Here the energy is so positive, people love where they are, what they are doing and want to enjoy life at its purest form. I embraced the whole spirit. And I believe for the first time in my life I figured out how it is our choice to feel truly happy. The feeling comes from appreciating and being grateful for what you have in the present moment. I decided to keep my wide smile especially since my father used to make jokes. Why should we have a sad face when we are blessed with life and are able to choose happiness?

Just sit down and seriously start your day writing your blessings. We have so many things to be thankful for. Let God hear our gratefulness every morning. Gratitude opens our hearts and make us feel strong to face life with a smile.

Leave a Reply

